Arrhythmia Alliance News & Events

Don't let cancelled/postponed conferences stop your educational learning! We have a large number of educational presentations available online HERE

Arrhythmia Alliance crowns Excellence in Practice Awards winners

Arrhythmia Alliance (A-A) recognised the work and support of three outstanding individuals, and a pioneering team, at the annual Excellence in Practice Awards ceremony last night.

A-A President Professor John Camm and Founder & CEO Trudie Lobban MBE announced the winners in an online ceremony where the guests heard of the award winners’ inspiring dedication to improving the diagnosis, treatment and quality of life for all those affected by arrhythmias.

The A-A Excellence in Practice Award winners were:

Dr Mark Mills – A-A Excellence in Practice Award - Team of the Year Award

Dr Mark Mills, and his team at Sheffield Cardiac Rhythm Management, received the Team of the Year Award for their breakthrough pilot study on the use of exercise-based cardiac rehabilitation in the management of symptomatic atrial fibrillation (AF) within the NHS.

The team examined the effects of cardiac rehabilitation on exercise capacity, weight, and psychological well-being; they also identified several barriers to completing cardiac rehabilitation, including severe obesity, higher anxiety and depression levels, and lower initial exercise capacity.

They now plan to focus on these barriers to develop a more comprehensive management programme, which incorporates risk factor management alongside cardiac rehabilitation as an integral part of the treatment of atrial fibrillation.

Dr Mills' team, who also collected the AF Healthcare Pioneers Award earlier this year, commented at the virtual awards ceremony: "I would like to thank each member of my team for their hard work. I’m just sorry that we are not able to collect this award in person, but I know everyone will be watching behind the scenes. It’s been a very difficult few months for everyone across the country and to receive this award has put a smile back on all of our faces.”

Professor Huon Gray - A-A Excellence in Practice Award - Outstanding Individual who has contributed to Arrhythmia Services

Professor Huon Gray, the former National Clinical Director for Heart Disease for NHS England, was among those honoured at the A-A Excellence in Practice Awards. He received the Award for Outstanding Individual who has Contributed to Arrhythmia Services.

He has enjoyed a celebrated career, holding several prestigious posts — including President of the British Cardiovascular Society, co-lead for the National Service Framework project and advisor to the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).

Following the announcement, Professor Gray said: “It is a great pleasure and honour to receive this award, from an organisation that has done so much to promote the better detection and care of patients with cardiac arrhythmias.

“In my previous role as National Clinical Director for Heart Disease in NHS England, I was pleased to play a small part in pursuing better detection of AF, and in raising the profile of inherited cardiac conditions and out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.

“I thank all those in AA responsible for giving me this award; their contributions to the better care of these patients has been far greater than my own.’’


Mrs Angela Griffiths - A-A Excellence in Practice Award - Charles Lobban Volunteer of the Year Award


Mrs Angela Griffiths, a senior arrhythmia nurse at John Radcliffe Hospital, who has volunteered countless hours to ensure A-A’s resources are both medically accurate and patient-friendly, was also honoured on the night.

Mrs Griffiths has volunteered for A-A and its sister charity the AF Association for more than 12 years, and each year she arranges several awareness events to promote their work. 

She accepted her award by saying: “I am so proud to receive what is such a prestigious award, and it truly is a great honour to receive this in the late Charles Lobban’s name. It is only possible to receive this award because I work with such fantastic people at the John Radcliffe Hospital in Oxford; in particular, my boss Jennifer who has supported me throughout my many years working there.”

Trudie Lobban MBE, the founder and CEO of Arrhythmia Alliance said: “I cannot think of anyone more deserving to receive this award in recognition of the time, expertise and dedication as a volunteer for both Arrhythmia Alliance and the AF Association. How she manages to support our work, alongside her busy clinic and family life, is inspirational, and we are so lucky to have someone like Angela supporting our work.”


Dr Edward Rowland - A-A Excellence in Practice Award - Arrhythmia Alliance Lifetime Achievement Award 

Dr Edward Rowland, the Medical Director at St Bartholomew’s Hospital, received the A-A Lifetime Achievement Award for his distinguished career during which he has advanced understanding and awareness of cardiac rhythm disorders.

His work has been an immense value to A-A, most notably when he served as co-editor of the NHS National Service Framework Chapter 8 (Arrhythmias and Sudden Cardiac Death).

A founder member of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC); he also served as President of Heart Rhythm UK (now the British Heart Rhythm Society) and acted as adviser to the London Cardiovascular Panel on redesigning cardiovascular services in London.

Rowland said: “It is a great honour to receive this award and I can assure it will be very treasured because it comes from colleagues in a field that it has been an enormous privilege to work in.

“There are two parts of my career that brought me immense pride. One is working as part of the British Heart Rhythm Society, and the other is my association with Arrhythmia Alliance. It is a great privilege to receive this award, and I hope we will be able to meet again in person before too long.”

Meanwhile, Arrhythmia Alliance also crowned the Young Investigator of the Year Awards, which were presented by judges Dr Fu Siong Ng & Dr Malcolm Finlay.

Dr Luca Soattin collected the Basic Science prize for his abstract on SK3 channels downregulation through antisense oligonucleotides confers potential protection against atrial fibrillation in rats. The Clinical Science prize was won by Dr Min-Young Kim for her work on Ganglionated Plexus Ablation to Prevent Atrial Fibrillation (GANGLIA-AF).

The Award ceremony took place as part of the A-A Heart Rhythm Congress 2020 (HRC2020) which launched on Sunday 27th September, with more than 4,000 healthcare professionals and patients now registered to attend virtually. The event, which is free of charge for all healthcare professionals who register prior to Friday 2nd October 2020, is open for the next 12 months, with participants able to access talks and presentations from the world’s leading cardiac arrhythmia experts.

For more information visit: 


Send us your feedback

Patient Resources

To download our information resource and receive regular updates from Arrhythmia Alliance please enter your details below*:

No thanks

*Please note you can unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time

This link will take you to the site

Stay on this site