News & Information For Arrhythmia Clinicians

Congratulations to the winners of the Arrhythmia Alliance Excellence in Practice Awards 2017

Award for Outstanding Individual who has Contributed to Arrhythmia Services


Dr John Bourke – Consultant Cardiologist, Freeman Hospital

Dr John Bourke has been chosen for this award for his rich and varied contributions to EP and cardiology in a national and international setting. John has led the local EP department for over 10 years managing and encouraging the clinical expansion and the use of new technologies at the Freeman hospital. He has also contributed to the clinical network as lead Clinician and continues to work as a council member for the Clinical Senate. He spent 4 years as Training Program Director for the Northern Deanery Cardiology followed by 5 years on the Specialist Advisory Committee.   Clearly then John should be in position to take a step back and enjoy his legacy but in fact he has continued to learn new skill - John is an integral part of the Left Atrial Appendage Occlusion team here at Freeman. 


Team of the Year


Whipps Cross Day Case AF ablation team. Includes: Aaisha Opel, Simon Cook, Rhona Schwartz, Michael Fannon,  Semone Thomas-Small, Malcolm Finlay, Ross Hunter, Richard Schilling

The incidence of AF is increasing and with it the demand ablation. This team set up and investigated the safety and efficacy of high throughput day case AF ablation within a local non-cardiac centre. The cath lab staff had no experience of electrophysiology and were trained using simulation. Using a small team and standardised protocols they were able to perform AF ablation procedures nearly twice as quickly with less than half the X-rays and identical outcomes to their cardiac centre. The service provides a model to meet increasing demands of catheter ablation for AF. 


Charles Lobban Volunteer of the Year Award


Louise Power

Louise Power 1953-2017 - Louise Power who was one of the first ICD patients implanted in the UK was an amazing woman of many talents.   She worked for Walker books a children’s book publishing company and was responsible for finding new artists and illustrators.  Despite her many other commitments , after some serious health problems in 1997 she wanted to give something back and help other patients who suffered similar problems to herself.   She helped set up St. George's ICD patient support group Backup and became its chairperson until this year.  She took a degree in counselling and became a BACAP accredited counsellor.  Her commitment to Backup was enormous and she helped and supported many other patients at times when they needed help and support and did this in a completely unassuming way - all those she came into contact with benefited enormously from her sensible caring and compassionate approach to them.  Tragically she died this year after developing heart failure which was resistant to treatment despite heroic efforts on the part of those treating her.

Sue Jones (pictured right) accepted the award on her behalf as a close friend and colleague.


AF Association Healthcare Pioneers

Please click here to see the full list of AF Association Healthcare Pioneers - Showcasing Best Practice in AF Winners.

Get in touch for more help and information

+44 (0) 1789 867 501info@heartrhythmalliance.org


Send us your feedback

Download Resource

To download our information resource and receive regular updates from Arrhythmia Alliance please enter your details below*:

No thanks

*Please note you can unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time

This link will take you to the site

Stay on this site